An Independence Day Story

on

something that reflects in some ways what i feel about Indian independence. Happy Aug 15th India!

Random Thoughts of a Demented Mind

She:  Dadu, what should Independence Day mean for me?

Dadu (Grandfather): Why this question?

She: I know you won’t like my saying this but, for me at least,  Independence Day means nothing. When I was younger, I used to think of it as fun. Standing in line at school and waving little flags, no classes, coming home and watching yet another rerun of Gandhi. But now that I can think for myself, I find this…I don’t know…

Dadu: What don’t you know?

She:  I don’t know what I am supposed to feel. I don’t see what’s special. I really don’t.

Dadu: Hmmm.

She: I mean, they force it on you everywhere.  As if making you stand every time before a movie isn’t bad enough every day of the year, here is one day devoted solely to standing up and saluting.

Dadu: Well, some might say, that this is a little…

View original post 689 more words

Leave a Reply

