Making dumplings at home ain’t tough!

on

dumplings

…..if you buy those dumpling skins from your local wet / flour market, that is. With that, I can proudly say, I DID IT!!

I’ve always wanted to make dumplings, and my partner and I tried making them from absolute scratch earlier, but ended up with GIANT dumplings which were more scary than appetising. Then we decided to do what any other local wonton guy does – buy a whole bunch of those square, silky smooth, machine-made dumpling skins for something like RMB 5. Then all we had to do was to prepare the filling. Easy peasy! Go to YouTube, type out ‘How to fold dumplings’ and you’ll get a bunch of really good video tutorials. We followed this one. For pork filling, I’d like to think this one’s spot on.

Well, we ended up with a lovely bunch of dumplings, albeit with no salt (forgot that!). But this is really fun and quick. Feel free to call over friends (as free labour), make a gazillion dumplings and have a dumpling/ wonton party over the weekend!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jyoti Mahajan says:

    They look awesome.

    On Wednesday, July 9, 2014, The Jing’An Itch wrote: > ANU posted: ” …..if you buy those dumpling skins from your local wet / flour market, that is. With that, I can proudly say, I DID IT!! I’ve always wanted to make dumplings, and my partner and I tried making them from absolute scratch earlier, but ended up with” >

Leave a Reply

