—Hummus—

edf

I love hummus.

The first time I ever had this, I was mind-blown at the flavours. I love food that keeps the integrity of the ingredients. Hummus is on that list. For me, hummus is extra special because I am not a fan of chickpea, never have been. Indian cuisine uses chickpeas in various forms and those are all great, but anything with ‘Chole‘ never really appealed to me.

I have time on hand these days, so decided to make hummus at home. From scratch. Every recipe I watched on Youtube (even Mr. Oliver’s, sigh), used canned chickpeas and tahini which was store-bought. I was not in the mood to do that. I already had a packet of chickpeas at home, and sesame seeds. I looked up several recipes (I liked The Daring Gourmet and Inspired Taste most) and combined elements from most of the recipes to arrive at my own version of hummus which I hope is how it’s traditionally done.

Apparently there’s a hummus camp who prefer to not include tahini. Say what?! 

Here’s what I did:

  • 2 full cups of dry chickpeas to be soaked overnight or say 7-8 hours through the day, after which they get swollen with water. Soak them in a large bowl with much more water as they soak up a lot!
  • Then give a boil for about 1.5 hours on medium heat so they get mushy. I read somewhere that one must keep them covered with a lid that’s slightly ajar cuz that helps make them mushy and not hard boiled (in case they are boiled in an open pot).
  • Once boiled, let them cool to room temp.
  • For the tahini, which is a sexier word for sesame paste, get a full cup of white sesame seeds and toast them till they get very light brown and oily. They burn in a millionth of a second so toast for a couple of minutes with a hawk eye.
  • Let cool and blend the bejeezus outta them with 3-4 tbsp of olive oil. Remember to blend, scrape sides, blend, scrape sides. This process takes 6-8 minutes or a bit more till the consistency is pourable, liquidy.

(It’s amazing how blending for a long time can change the look and feel of the blendee)

  • Once the above two steps are completed and both items are at room temp, throw them into a mixer, along with 1/4th cup olive oil (maybe more as you need), more than a pinch of salt, pepper, paprika, lemon juice (I used 1 whole but that wasn’t enough, so use two lemons), and 4-5 garlic cloves.
  • They say you don’t need to add water, but that’s what killed the motor of my mixie. I ended up adding nearly a cup of water to mine so it could blend well in my back-up blender (thank you mom in law that that life saving device).
  • Blend away till you get consistency you like. Takes many minutes (more than 10-14 for me) of blending and scraping off sides so the mix is consistent and gets to the creamy level that is desirable.

Enjoy with some homemade bread OR rotis OR store bought pita (next item for me to conquer) OR carrots/ cucumbers.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice. Sounds interesting,will try.

    1. anu says:

      Let me know how it turns out 🙂

Leave a Reply

